Lauren Holly Biography

Lauren Holly photo

Born: October 28, 1963

Lauren Holly

Date of Birth: October 28, 1963

Lauren Holly was born in Bristol, Pennsylvania. The daughter of two professors, Holly was educated at Sarah Lawrence College where she roomed with actress Robin Givens while studying for a degree in English literature. She got her start in acting with the 1985 film Seven Minutes in Heaven which led to a role on daytime TV's All My Children. Holly stayed with the soap for three years and was honored with an Emmy nomination for her portrayal of Julie Chandler. She later put in four seasons with CBS's Emmy-winning series Picket Fences before making her big screen breakthrough in Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story (1993).

Lauren admitted that turning down the female lead in Ace Ventura, Pet Detective (1994) was not the best decision she's ever made. So when she was offered another opportunity to star with Canadian actor Jim Carrey in Dumb and Dumber (1994), she wasn't going to make the same mistake twice. Holly and Carrey walked down the aisle together in 1996, but cited "irreconcilable differences" as the reason for divorce ten months later.

Most recently, she starred in the Canadian crime drama series Motive and in the feature film After the Ball(2015).


After the Ball (2015)
Motive (TV series)
Hoovey (2015)
Marshall the Miracle Dog (2014)
Field of Lost Shoes (2014)
The Town That Came A-Courtin’ (2014)
Chasing 3000 (2010)
The Final Storm (2010)
You’re So Cupid! (2010)
Crank: High Voltage
The Perfect Age of Rock’n’Roll (2009)
The Least Among You (2009)
Raising Flagg (2006)
The Pleasure Drivers (2006)
Fatwa (2006)
The Godfather of Green Bay (2005)
Down and Derby (2005)
The Chumscrubber (2005)
In Enemy Hands (2004)
Changing Hearts (2002)
Miyazaki's Spirited Away (voice) (2002)
What Women Want (2000)
Any Given Sunday (1999)
Entropy (1999)
No Looking Back (1998)
Smile Like Yours (1997)
Beautiful Girls (1996)
Down Periscope (1996)
Turbulence (1996)
Sabrina (1995)
Dumb and Dumber (1994)
Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story (1993)
The Adventures of Ford Fairlane (1990)
Band of the Hand (1986)
Seven Minutes in Heaven (1985)

  Change Location