Christmas With The Chosen: The Messengers - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.29 / 5

User rating: 3.29

Based on 84 votes and 31 reviews


  • User rating: 3.29 47.62%
  • User rating: 3.29 2.38%
  • User rating: 3.29 9.52%
  • User rating: 3.29 11.90%
  • User rating: 3.29 28.57%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 31 of 31

User review rating: 2 December 06, 2021

I love The Chosen series. I thought I was going to watch a movie. Very long time watching people singing songs was boring. I would not sit thru this again & will not recommend to others.

User review rating: 1 December 06, 2021

I love the Chosen but this was not what was expected for most people. It's an hour and a half of Christmas music videos which I could've watched on youtube and a 20-minute episode that portrayed very little of the coming of Jesus. People were leaving at the theater I attended. I state this because Dallas mentions how people will come to the movies for the right project and this simply is NOT it. For those wanting to bring non-believers to hear the story of Christ, this will more than likely be a turn-off for them and isn't engaging. I really wanted my brother to see what I see in the series Chosen and this movie put him to sleep. This is a two-hour-long music video, not a movie.

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2021

The music was beautiful and anointed! The way the story of Jesus birth was depicted made it relatable and real. Loved it! Well done Dallas and team!

User review rating: 1 December 06, 2021

That it is only a group of artists singing trying to get fame. That is NOT a movie.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2021

The music mixed with the story of Christ's birth- I'm going again!

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2021

Not enough drama..acting like the chosen is known for. I Went to see a movie ..not music videos..The acting and writing was great..The chosen people should have promoted this as a praise and worship event ..not a true movie.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2021

If you need some Joy and Hope, by all means go and see this movie. If you love The Chosen series you will love this incredible production! Get ready to worship💗

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2021

Too long on music and too short on story. Music is overhyped.

User review rating: 1 December 05, 2021

It wasn't really a movie but more of a promo for a bunch of singing groups which were way over hyped at that. 2 hours of Lip sync and 30 minutes of the movie. If I had know that was what I was going to see (hear) I would have just bought the cd to support the Chosen and then thrown the cd away. Very disapointed and I won't be going back to see another Choosen movie in the theaters again. We almost walked out but I would have felt a little guilty walking out on the birth of Christ. Ha!

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2021

Loved the beautiful worship music. Loved the speaking parts and the movie part! Just loved everything about it! Great job Dallas! It didn’t disappoint! Just called an out of state friend and found a theater near her! She is thrilled and said her whole family will go!

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2021

Beautiful music and joy in the true meaning of Christmas. The episode at the end giving the reality of having a child, a chosen child in those days is beautiful and impactful. Real and honest. Loved it!

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2021

Outstanding production. Moving beyond belief. Impactful!

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2021

I thought I was going to see a movie, not a CCM concert and witnessing spectacle. I love the Chosen but cannot recommend this unless you’re an evangelical that likes this kind of music and in your face preaching.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2021

The beautiful story of Christmas is Jesus. The Savior of the World. People must know how much he loves them. The music was worshipping our soon coming King. Great presentation of the birth of Christ.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2021

I absolutely loved this I laughed, I cried. I was caught up in it. Even though we had to sit in the second row cause the theater was pretty much sold out!! Wonderful Christmas production

User review rating: 2 December 04, 2021

First they promoted what was to come, then song after song of good, not great, musical quality, then little blurbs, finally the movie for about 30 minutes, ending with another highly staged song. I brought a water bottle and the security lady came to me after the movie played for twenty minutes and confiscated it - didn't know water wasn't allowed. S.S. on patrol! Will not be back.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2021

The blend of music (really pulled at my heartstrings). And the story out-takes, excellent. Then finally topped off with the movie, all so so good!

User review rating: 1 December 04, 2021

I didn't like that there was so much music for the first hour and 25 minutes. I love the chosen but 4 of my family members plus me was disappointed in this.

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2021

Blindsided with mostly singing. I was expecting to see a movie at the MOVIE theater, but instead I was tortured with over a hour of fake singing with overly make-up done artists that came nowhere close to sharing the good news of Christ. What it seemed to me was just another money making scheme. I'm very disappointed in Dallas Jenkins. I feel that he's more focused on promoting The Chosen than with telling the world how awesome our Savior is... Since this squandered opportunity of REALLY proclaiming Christ, I have unsubscribed from all Chosen apps and emails. I feel used.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2021

I loved the singing, the monologues on God's attributes and why "people need to know about Jesus" discussions. I was aware there were performances before the episode but that was one reason I loved it. Music has and will always be an expression of praise to God. The episode, The Messengers, was well done and gave you a realistic look at what could have been reality on that night for Mary and Joseph. Excellent, awesome and amazing how Dallas Jenkins tells you the story of Jesus in a realistic environment and the depth of the Bible is right before you in living color. I left the performance with nothing but love and joy!

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2021

The music was so annoying and never ended, the actual episode was short and really didn't share the gospel. Never again

User review rating: 1 December 02, 2021

The first hour and fifteen minutes was torture. Had no idea there would be so much (overly dramatic) singing. Singers should sing - not ACT like they're singing! This was so obviously a quick way for the show's creators to make some money. I barely remember the movie part because I was so put off by the fake over the top worship. None of those artists came across as "real" believers

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2021

It was so much more than I expected. My sister said it was a million times better than she was expecting. Definitely going to go back and watch it again. Episode was good too. Artists were such a blessing and gifted. I highly recommend it

User review rating: 3 December 02, 2021

The first hour was tedious. I don't know how or why these groups were picked, but their music didn't do much for me until they got to The Bonner Family, the children's choir, and the end girl. I wanted to see a movie. Instead I got blasted with Evangelical performers with lots of makeup, heavy eyelashes, cleavage and contortions. WHY do Christian performers have to act like they are having a break down, contorting their body, contorting their faces, bending in half....to proclaim God's glory and wonderfulness? And gladness. They were trying to be glad and merry, but many of the performances left me cold. Where was the spirit? What kind of a name is Cain? The lead singer needs to tone down her tan and makeup. She is singing about CHRIST yet looks so fake. The actual movie part was TERRIFIC, just like the rest of the Chosen. I just wasn't prepared for the first hour plus. Honestly???

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2021

We really enjoyed Christmas with the Chosen. An inspirational reminder of the message of Hope to the world through our Savior Jesus Christ. The music was beautifully done by all the artists. I particularly enjoyed the children's choir. Love it. Will see again!

User review rating: 3 December 02, 2021

The music part is way too long. 6 of us huge Chosen fans went together, and came away unimpressed. It was meh. Too long. Not nearly enough Chosen.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2021

This really shows the gritty surroundings Jesus was born in and the unexpected circumstances in which Joseph and Mary found themselves. As The Chosen writers often do, there is a parallel story going on with a little mystery. but it all wraps itself up to be a season favorite for years to come.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2021

Outstanding production and story line. The Chosen cast and characters are blessed by God !

User review rating: 3 December 01, 2021

I was really looking forward to seeing this movie with the family. With how much we love The Chosen series, we expected nothing less with the movie. Any story about my Lord and Savior based on truth is worth seeing, we just expected this to be a full length movie. Had no clue that more than an hour of it would be singing by various artists. That was nice, but again, had no clue that would be the majority of the feature. Disappointed in that regard. This would’ve been nice for a night on television or shown in the app.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2021

The story was well told. It was like being there in the time of Jesus’ birth. Dallas Jenkins has done a wonderful job. I pray that everyone sees this.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2021

What would it have been like if you were firsthand witnesses to things we read about? If you saw things with your own eyes, how would you respond? I may not see Jesus today but I have seen things that cannot be explained. I am blessed and believe and can't ever hide what has happened in my life. Praise to Jesus Christ and God the Father and to the Holy Spirit.

  Change Location