Where the Crawdads Sing - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.55 / 5

User rating: 4.55

Based on 264 votes and 96 reviews


  • User rating: 4.55 81.82%
  • User rating: 4.55 5.30%
  • User rating: 4.55 3.79%
  • User rating: 4.55 4.55%
  • User rating: 4.55 4.55%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 51 to 96 of 96

User review rating: 5 July 31, 2022

Loved the movie. Loved the book! Great casting. Could have given the last years a little more screen time. I liked it so much, am going again

User review rating: 5 July 31, 2022

Loved the book......Loved the movie! Excellent casting and location of where it was filmed! Seeing it again today for the second time!

User review rating: 5 July 30, 2022

Exceptional acting , cinematography and story line. Thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2022

What makes or breaks us in reality.

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2022

This movie takes you into the swamplands and dumps you into an authentic lifestyle situation through the eyes of a beautiful young heart you won't find anywhere.

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2022

Followed the book

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2022

I so loved the book and was just as impressed with how the movie portrayed this story. I am still thinking about and praising the movie, the day after and I know it will be one of my "best"! Congratulations to everyone who worded to put this together -actors, producers, script, cinematography, music, etc al!!!

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

Areal story with a twist. Romance and mystery. A great combination.

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

The main character did an outstanding job! Total movie enjoyable. As life is, we all go through the good and bad. Always a few surprises and disappointments. How do we cope/handle/overcome the negative!

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

It was emotional. Interesting a little bit if a mystery. I highly recommend seeing it. Worth it

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

Great movie

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

Acting was great. Cast did a great job. It didn't end how I thought it would. But I absolutely loved this movie. May go see it again. Best movie I have seen in a very long time.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

Very good movie. I didn't pay attention to the bad reviews and went to see it. I am so glad I did!

User review rating: 3 July 25, 2022

Having read the book a while back, I was looking forward to the movie and wondering how one would portray the complex yet subtle emotions surrounding events, family, and friends. I wanted to love the movie, but 3 stars is all I can muster. I was disappointed. I know an entire book cannot be captured in a limited film, and maybe I had an unreasonable expectation. But the most I can say is that the film was inspired by an event from the book, but IMO it's a far stretch to say it's a representation of the beautiful and engaging story written by Delia Owens.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

Story was spellbinding settings excellent The acting was also top rate loved it

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

5 scars

User review rating: 4 July 25, 2022

The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that I felt it left out some key scenes from the book that would have made the plot a lot clearer. It was beautifully done.

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

Just simply a very solid and entertaining movie! Do not understand the poor reviews a lot of critics gave it because I couldn't fault this movie!

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

I’ve already seen it twice… so so good! Casting and acting are excellent.

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

I was still thinking about how good this movie was the next day, the day after, and 5 days later still thinking about it enough to leave a well deserved 5 star review! It was a stunning and heartfelt movie that brought out every emotion you have inside. It had mystery and suspense, it has love, hate, and murder. And the setting and videography was absolutely stunning. You'll love it! Worth every penny!

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

I had my doubts as I had not heard anyone review this movie (very little hype) and figured a Reece Witherspoon production with a song by Taylor Swift may be a bit too Hollywood for me. I couldn’t be more wrong. The story is beautiful – very moving and well written. A love story, crime drama that will break your heart but feed your redemptive soul. The cinematography is stunning and will likely be nominated for academy award. The plot was deep, always changing and ended with a bang so big it left me beautifully shaken - laughing and crying. Most mainstream movies underwhelm me. This one was amazing.

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2022

Movie is well done, scenery is exceptional. Great mystery never knew who did it until the end and still not sure.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2022

Best film out in a long time. A real story.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2022

This movie was one of the best drama mysteries I've seen. It doesn't need off the charts special effects to be effective. Leaves you thinking about it after you've seen it through to the end and makes you want to go back and see it again for points of interest and subtle clues.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2022

Story developed with terrific characters interwoven with events in the lives of bayou folk. Very Southern take on life with beautifully timed disclosures and turns. And an astonishing and surprising end which was both shocking and satisfying. Music and cinematography outstanding. This is a real story so the Me-Generation would not understand as there are no alien monsters causing car crashes. Highly recommended.

User review rating: 3 July 22, 2022

I did not know anything about the book or what the movie was about so I came to watch without any preconceived ideas. I have seen thousands and thousands of movies in my life and I find that most people here very freely dismantle a pic with a star or over rate it's quality with a liberal 5 stars. Few follow into that category. Very few. So not to give anything away, this is a good movie. Not great, but good...solid script. Never bored at anytime. Makes a nice statement about white privilege in the South where black people and white trash should fit in and has some wonderful cinematography. Do not want to say too much more except it leaves you thinking about the end. Go see and decide for yourself. If your Gen Z this is not for you. Too much story for you and no explosions every five minutes. Done!

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2022

I read the book and think it followed it pretty well too. It sure beat the dark movies coming. There is a lot of history about how life was at that time.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2022

I read the book, movie followed it well. Moving story which has a real plot without Hollywood BS car crashes and bullets flying. A refreshing slice of real life.

User review rating: 4 July 21, 2022

The movie was so well done. The flow of events was captivating. Great movie. Will see it again. Even after reading the book.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2022

Acting was awesome and so was the script!!

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2022

I like the entire theme and setting of the movie. I also appreciated the fact that the movie didn't deviate from the book too much - just a couple of small, subtle changes. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2022

Great movie! Will be going to see a second time.

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2022

Best film I have seen in quite some time.

User review rating: 5 July 19, 2022

Wonderful movie. Followed Delia Owens beautiful words almost to the letter. It was done with such class, it is great to see that we are finally getting some adult movies again. Thank you.

User review rating: 5 July 19, 2022

Enjoyed all the scenery in the marshes - the wildlife was amazing. Loved the story line - followed the book. Kept me glued to the screen. Very good. ??👍

User review rating: 5 July 19, 2022

Best movie I've seen all year

User review rating: 1 July 19, 2022

Save your money. S!ow moving acting ok.

User review rating: 4 July 19, 2022

Ran pretty true to the book. Beautiful scenery. The book is always better, but I recommend it. Nice job Reese Witherspoon.

User review rating: 5 July 18, 2022

I enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. Daisy is such a good actress. I had seen her in Under the Banner of Heaven and she was good in that.

User review rating: 2 July 18, 2022

This is a case where the book was definitely better than the movie. It really didn't work on the screen. Still... nice scenery so stars for that!

User review rating: 4 July 18, 2022

Very good movie. Daisy Edgar-Jones will be seen and heard from again. Very talented young actor.

User review rating: 5 July 17, 2022

One of the best movies I've seen in quite some time

User review rating: 1 July 17, 2022

Excellent movie with great acting.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2022

Absolutely fantastic!! Loved the book and loved the movie!! A must see!! Perfectly done.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2022

It was so true to the book. Acting was superb.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2022

Liked the photography, casting, story, music, outstanding directon and acting...should be nominated for award. What a treat.

  Change Location